Director Luc Besson (‘The Fifth Element’, ‘Lucy’) brings a famous French comic book to life in the newest trailer for ‘Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets’, based of the comic series titled ‘Valérian and Laureline’ by Pierre Christin and Jean-Claude Mézières.

Even though it says “teaser trailer”, this is more in the line of a theatrical trailer instead. However, I’m not going to lie, it kind of looks like a lot of fun, with some imaginative visuals and plenty of action to boot. The movie reminds me of past films such as ‘Avatar’ (in terms of visual effects) and ‘John Carter’ (lots of desert planet action and some crazy creature designs). In fact, just the opening shot of the trailer reminded me of the second teaser trailer for ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ as that trailer opened on a desert planet with a rover moving from one side of the screen to the other. Although, despite that it still looks like a lot of fun, and obviously these past films have inspired this one, or since this comic series was first published in 1967, maybe it’s the other way around? Regardless, the characters look likeable, tangled in an adventure of a lifetime, as the film looks promising.

However, as I always say, I’m willing to give a new film a go, as while I do like other franchises like the ‘Marvel Cinematic Universe’ and ‘Star Wars’, I’m always rooting for new franchises, and I think we need some at this point.

‘Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets’ debuts in cinemas July 21st in the USA, and August 10th in Australia.

