With the release of ‘Rogue One: A Star Wars Story’ – now showing in theatres – we reflect back at the ‘Star Wars’ films that have came before. Let’s revisit the seven theatrical films from the instant phenomenon of ‘Star Wars’ back in 1977 to the latest release of ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’. The following grades listed down below are the film’s average grades. It’s time to look at the report card for the ‘Star Wars’ saga.

Star Wars (1977)


A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…. or at least a long time ago on planet Earth came a film titled ‘Star Wars’, or now by its re-release title ‘Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope’ is the first film released in the ‘Star Wars’ saga, all the way back in 1977, which became a cultural and pop culture phenomenon. ‘Star Wars’ is a technical marvel, the effects haven’t aged a bit. The spaceship battles of lasers and even to the lightsabers still look great visually, and this is a film that was out in the 70’s. Oh… and Han shot first!

The Empire Strikes Back (1980)


The Empire, has indeed, striked back in the second released ‘Star Wars’ film titled ‘The Empire Strikes Back’. The sequel sees our favourite three characters, Luke, Han and Leia in their new base in an icy cold planet known as Hoth, after being driven away by the Galactic Empire. However, the Empire knows the whereabouts of the Rebel Alliance’s base and seeks to destroy them. ‘The Empire Strikes Back’ is a much better and well-crafted film, the action is more intense and there is more action, making a better balance between story and battles.

Return of the Jedi (1983)


The third ‘Star Wars’ film in the saga titled ‘Return of the Jedi’. Luke Skywalker is on a mission to save Han from Jabba the Hutt, who also captures Leia, Chewbacca, C-3PO and R2-D2. Although, Luke is now stronger than ever, now a Jedi knight, as he must defeat Jabba to save his friends. However, the Galactic Empire is building a new Death Star (which is ridiculous because it failed the first time), but the Emperor is there now, pursuing Luke to join the dark side. Get ready for a galactic journey with Luke Skywalker and those furry bears, the Eworks.

Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999)


A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…. came ‘Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace’, released with immense hype in 1999. The film is about a treaty that the Trade Federation want Queen Padme Amidala to sign (yes, I know I’m writing about a ‘Star Wars’ movie), but have to take the queen to a distant planet of Tatooine as the Federation have ambushed the city of Naboo. I hope that makes sense, because the film was confusing and convoluted at best. To sum it up, the film has an underused villain, Darth Maul, and an overused character, Jar Jar Binks.

Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002)


The second film in the prequel trilogy titled ‘Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones’. The film takes place about ten years later and Anakin Skywalker is now all grown up, and is excited to see the now Senator Padme Amidala, but there is a bounty hunter out there, so they try to protect Padme, by superhero antics of jumping out of a window and holding on to a worm bot? Yes, even for a ‘Star Wars’ film that’s stretching it. ‘Attack of the Clones’ is simply all spectacle, and very little substance… like talking about sand!

Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)


The third and final film in the prequel trilogy titled ‘Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith’The film starts off that Chancellor Palpatine has been kidnapped by Count Dooku, leaving Obi-Wan and Anakin to save him. However, the dark side is infiltrating the Republic, leaving for a war between the Jedi’s and the Sith. The film is the easiest to follow in the prequel trilogy, but still under-uses its intriguing villains like General Grievous. But it does have incredible lightsaber and battle scenes.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)


The wait is over, the hype is strong, and the seventh entry in the ‘Star Wars’ saga has been released, ten years after the previously released film ‘Revenge of the Sith’. The film is set thirty years where ‘Return of the Jedi’ concludes, this time the dark side has grown incredibly strong, under new leadership of Kylo Ren. With no hope in sight, BB-8 sets out to deliver a message. However, the message gets delivered towards a scavenger named Rey, a strong independent woman who has lived her days on the planet of Jakku, which looks a lot like Tatooine because it is a desert planet as well. ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ isn’t just a great ‘Star Wars’movie, it’s a great movie, one that balances great character, great action and great story against the backdrop of a world that feels as real as it did in 1977, while in the process launching stars in the process, Daisy Ridley and John Boyega.