EuropaCorp have released the first look at director Luc Besson’s next film ‘Valerian’.

While I’ve only seen ‘Lucy’ from director Luc Besson, tonally it looks very different to that 2014 hit film. Stylistically, it looks like a mesh of other films into one; as the soundtrack reminded me a bit of ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’, some of the creatures reminded me of ‘Avatar’ and ‘Star Wars’; although that’s not a bad thing. I’m actually fully intrigued by this “universe without boundaries” as visually it looks really good, although I don’t really know the story to this film, but yet again it is a “teaser” so here’s hoping the next trailer introduces the film’s plot, but as a first impression, I am very intrigued by this fascinating and strange world.

‘Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets’ stars Dane DeHaan and Cara Delevingne. The film is directed by Luc Besson (‘The Fifth Element’).

‘Valerian’ debuts in theatres on July 21st, 2017.

