Two days ago marked three years since Cory Monteith’s unexpected passing. In honoring his legacy, I will review ‘Glee: The 3D Concert Movie’. Before this show premiered, never have I been more excited for the series premiere of ‘Glee’ on May 19th, 2009, and when it hit the airwaves, I was instantly hooked. Over the years since its premiere, I use to call myself a gleek, now I go by the term as “original gleek” as I was a mega fan of the first three seasons, but once half of the main characters left the series as regulars, the show went through a massive downfall with its rocky fourth season (which I turned off halfway through). Whether you are an original gleek, a newbie gleek or just an all-rounded gleek, this show had a rabid fanbase, with 13 million viewers at the peak of the show’s popularity. ‘Glee’ opened up a light in people’s hearts.

To prove my status as a gleek, here are some quick ‘Glee’ related opinions of my favourite moments from this one stellar of a show. My favourite character is Rachel. My favourite episode is ‘Journey to Regionals’. My favourite song is “Listen”. My favourite couple is Finchel (Finn and Rachel). My favourite guest star is Gwyneth Paltrow (Holly Holliday). Sorry Neil Patrick Harris, you’d be my second choice for favourite guest. My favourite moment is the end of season one during “To Sir With Love” when Sue cries in sadness over the Glee Club’s demise as she learns the power and strength of friendship and love for one another. And here’s something that an ultimate fan would say, there wasn’t enough Tina in this movie.

‘Glee: The 3D Concert Movie’ is a gleek’s ultimate dream, seeing the characters and hearing the show’s popular tunes blaring through the cinemas speakers. The film features some of my favourite songs through the show’s first and second seasons like “Don’t Stop Believin’”, “Don’t Rain On My Parade”, “Firework”, “Valerie” (my father’s favourite) and “Loser Like Me”, among many others.

The film showcases three fans over their love for the show, but also showing obstacles that they must overcome in life – which this part of the film really impressed me. The thing that I found odd is the cast acting as their characters. Not only does it feel like it is being made up on the spot, but it just feels odd that a small glee club in Ohio is travelling the world by selling out concerts – it is a bit far-fetched. I think I would have likened if it was like other concert films I’ve seen that just showed the people on stage having fun backstage, like the ‘Hannah Montana’ concert that focused on Miley Cyrus and her rise to fame and ‘One Direction’ concert that focused on the lives of the individual members of the group. Sure, there’s some things to like about it, but I would have liked to see the cast having fun that we get a few glimpses of like the guys working out before the show or Darren singing with his fellow Warblers.

‘Glee: The 3D Concert Movie’ showcases the show’s values perfectly, with pitch perfect songs and showcasing some of the show’s fans, this film is perfect for any gleek, as quoting one of the girls in the film, ‘Glee’ is a “playlist of my life”.

DA- AA-

