Image via Rovio Entertainment

If I was an executive, and I was playing on my mobile, trying to think of an idea that could sell to a studio, and then I find myself playing an app. Not resisting to turn it off. I find myself enjoying flinging birds at blocks while using a slingshot. I then have a clichéd lightbulb, dangling from my head. Which was convenient while the electrician fixes my light above. And then it hits me. I can turn this mobile game into a movie – as it is loaded with so much story to create a feature film out of. This is ‘The Angry Birds Movie’.

But in all seriousness, ‘The Angry Birds Movie’ features a story of an outcast bird named Red who is just passively angry all the time. One day, pigs land on Bird Island (it’s the actual name of the island) and they seem to be friendly by offering shows and square dancing, but among the elaborative square dancing is a secret plan.

‘The Angry Birds Movie’ suffers from let’s be funny all the time, because that what makes comedies work. In reality, it’s not. You’ve got to provide the heart and the emotional bondage between these characters, instead if you make it always funny, then you lack the depth provided with these characters. After walking out of the theatre, I still don’t know hardly anything to these characters then I did walking into the movie theatre – and that there is a problem. The only somewhat developed character is Red, as we learn his been bullied and picked on, creating him as an outsider, and his isolation in life. Most times, I actually feel sorry for Red as no one listens to him, despite his true intentions. I found myself growing to like Red as the film progresses, but just didn’t found the characters that surround him anything particularly interesting. There are a few laughs, but there are a lot of flat jokes because of the film’s tone of being funny and silly.
Kids might find enjoyment, but the parents might find it a bit of a bore. There’s humour that adults will find amusing, but this film seems to have an audience identity crisis, filled with surprising adult humour that isn’t suitable for kids, and then having jokes that will only work for an infant. The film doesn’t know who to please or what this audience is for, since kids and adults both play the app.

‘The Angry Birds Movie’ tries, but with a thin story and some jokes that will only cater towards kids, I found myself at war with this film, being enjoyable – then rolling my eyes in disbelief. Still, it is the better attempt at adapting video-games to the silver screen.

c

