A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away….

‘Star Wars’, or now by its re-release title ‘Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope’ is the first film released in the ‘Star Wars’ saga, all the way back in 1977, which became a cultural and pop culture phenomenon, which not many films are granted as instant classics or cultural phenomenon status.

‘Star Wars’ is about the Rebel Alliance stealing the plans of the Death Star from the Galactic Empire. Pretty straight forward.

While I didn’t really grow up with ‘Star Wars’, like many who are massive fans towards this series, I did watch ‘The Phantom Menace’ in theatres as a kid, and wasn’t entranced by it, ‘Harry Potter’ was the franchise I loved as a kid, and if ‘The Phantom Menace’ was great, maybe I’d be more of a ‘Star Wars’ fan, than a ‘Harry Potter’ one. I also watched ‘Revenge of the Sith’ in theatres, and remember enjoying it more than ‘The Phantom Menace’, however I’ve only seen the originals once before seeing ‘Revenge of the Sith’ in theatres on television, and remember enjoying them more than the prequels, but couldn’t get me as hyped as I was for new ‘Harry Potter’ films.

‘Star Wars’ is a technical marvel, the effects haven’t aged a bit, with the exception of one or two scenes, mainly anything involving explosions seems a bit outdated, but the spaceship battles of lasers and even to the lightsabers, while not as impressive as the prequels, they still look great visually, and this is a film that was out in the 70’s.

I should also point out that for this film, and the next two films, are all from the Blu-ray editions of these films, and while I am overlooking all the distracting and noticeable CGI in these films, I can’t overlook deleted scenes that were made back into these special editions of these films, an example from this film is the Jabba the Hutt scene with Han Solo. Han walking on his tail was ridiculous and highly noticeable in a bad way. And yes, Greedo shot first in this edition of the film, but others, and myself included from watching the television versions of the film, Han shot first, and why wouldn’t he? Greedo was going to shoot him, he did in self-defence.

Anyway, back to the film, the characters are all likeable and have their own distinct personalities. Even if Luke started a bit whiny, his character grows, and in the end, you end up rooting for him to succeed against the Galactic Empire. The film often has some slow scenes, and while I didn’t love this film, unlike others, I did enjoy it and the world they created is a unique built world that feels realistic and fully functional, much alike ‘Harry Potter’ or ‘The Hunger Games’.

‘Star Wars’ is a solid film that started a cultural phenomenon.

Daniel’s Grade: B+

Average Grade: B+

